Guatemala time! - Reisverslag uit San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala van Tim Beishuizen - WaarBenJij.nu Guatemala time! - Reisverslag uit San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala van Tim Beishuizen - WaarBenJij.nu

Guatemala time!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tim

24 November 2018 | Guatemala, San Pedro La Laguna

So that was a turn! After traveling around in Mexico for 3 weeks, I headed for Guatemala. It was quite close to San Cristobal and I heard amazing stories about it. And I already have too many stories to telk you guys.

At first the shuttle to Lago Atitlan, the place I stayed. In the shuttle were two amazing people I talked with: Adam, a native american, and Magenta, an african american born in Germany. Both had the most amazing stories about their past and I we had amazing conversations. Adam and I actually joined our path by going to the same hostel in Panajachel, the final station of the shuttle and a town at the beautiful lago Atitlan.

The next day Adam and I headed to San Pedro, a different village on lago Atitlan. He booked lessons in Mayan culture (his job is to learn more about it, with his own background back in the States. I booked some lessons in Spanish to polish it up a bit. Because of that I could stay in a treehouse on the school lot, which was an amazing experience.

The lessons I got were from a Mayan guy, and helped me to finally understand a bit more of the language. He himself also helped me understand how Guatemala is, the Mayan culture and even some simple words. They were very cool and I even had some Salsa lessons and the school! Who would have thought that I would take those.

From San Pedro I also took a hike to Nariz de Indio. It was an amazing view to all of the lake and also to the many vulcanoes in the area. Remember the Fuego vulcano that erupted a couple of days ago? We actually saw it erupt a little bit from this hideout, as well!

After I finished my Spanish lessons I went to Panajachel for one more day to go paragliding. This was really cool and above the lago there was so much to see, I regretted doing it alone so I had no one to share the experience with. I did however drive a Chicken bus (an old and disqualified school bus from the state) with Magenta and loved that they cram as much people as possible in there.

After a long time at Lago Atitlan I took a shuttle to Lanquin. The road was terrible at some places and we drove to some of the poorest areas to get there. This was very sad to see, but also I opening to see. Aside from that the ride showed that Guatemala has some amazing nature and landscapes and that there is more to find in here. So let's see what Lanquin will bring!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Guatemala, San Pedro La Laguna

Tim

Actief sinds 30 Okt. 2018
Verslag gelezen: 238
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2927

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Oktober 2018 - 31 December 2018

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: